For many years, sufferers of celiac disease confronted these issues when deciding how to fulfill the mitzvah of matzah on Pesach. This changed in the mid-1980s when Rabbi Ephraim Kestenbaum, a chemist from Golders Green in London, was prompted by his young daughter, who was diagnosed with celiac, to solve the dilemma.
He capitalized on the inclusion of oats in the list of Five Grains to create gluten-free oat matzah. After much experimentation and perseverance working with the crumbly gluten-less dough, his endeavor yielded a product that became popular among the community of celiac sufferers.
Rabbi Moshe T. Schuchman has put together a guide explaining the halacha and history of oat matzah.